Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
News & Press: Georgia's Electric Cooperatives

Georgia’s Electric Co-ops Recognize U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson

Thursday, May 9, 2019  
Posted by: Terri Statham
Share |

Decades of public service and support of EMCs
and EMC members garners national recognition

(TUCKER, Ga., May 9, 2019)—Together with the nation’s more than 900 electric cooperatives, the 41 electric membership cooperatives (EMCs) in Georgia recently presented the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Distinguished Service Award to U.S. Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.) in recognition of his outstanding record of service on issues affecting EMCs not only in Georgia but across the nation.

“This award recognizes public officials who have gone above and beyond in furthering the principles and progress of electric cooperatives and helping us achieve our mission,” says Galen Mills, board chairman of Hart EMC, and board member of NRECA. “Senator Isakson exemplifies this in every way.”

EMC executives pointed to the senator’s efforts in Georgia and Washington which have saved hundreds of millions of dollars for electric cooperative members in Georgia and across America.

According to Georgia EMC President/CEO Dennis Chastain, Isakson’s steadfast leadership, both in state office and in the U.S. Congress, has helped electric cooperatives in the Peach State maintain the highest levels of reliability and affordability in providing electricity to 4.4 million Georgians today. Chastain also noted Sen. Isakson’s steadfast support of the construction of Plant Vogtle Units 3 and 4, which Georgia’s electric cooperatives co-own through their generation cooperative, Oglethorpe Power Corporation.

“His efforts and ardent support of legislation impacting EMCs have provided added protection for EMC members in the form of lower energy rates and enhanced reliability of the electric infrastructure,” says Chastain.

Senator Isakson’s support of co-ops extends beyond the policy arena. As a longtime member of Cobb EMC, he agreed to be one of the first load management customers for the Marietta-based co-op, helping encourage fellow EMC members to participate in electric cooperative efforts to reduce peak demand for energy in an innovative energy conservation program that remains a great success today.

He also is a passionate supporter of the multitude of youth programs sponsored by EMCs throughout the state such as the annual Washington Youth Tour, the oldest leadership program for teens in Georgia. Without fail, Sen. Isakson has taken time from his schedule to personally meet with the student delegates while they are visiting D.C. to discuss important issues in their respective communities. His tireless example has inspired countless young Georgians to make public service part of their adult life.

EMCs also took the opportunity to recognize Sen. Isakson for his decades of exemplary public service, pointing out he is the first Georgian ever to have been elected to the state House of Representatives, state Senate, U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate. In 2016, he became the first Republican in Georgia to be elected to a third term in the U.S. Senate.

“It’s my honor to fight for the customers and employees in Georgia and across the United States who benefit from not only stable sources of power but also the numerous community services, training programs and other initiatives led by our EMCs,” Sen. Isakson said.

Upon acceptance of the 2019 Distinguished Service Award, the senator joins the ranks of other notable Georgians who previously received the Award including U.S. Sen. Richard Russell (D-Ga.) and Walter Harrison, one of the pioneers in the electric cooperative program in Georgia and nationwide.

Georgia EMC is the statewide trade association representing the state’s 41 electric cooperatives, Oglethorpe Power Corp., Georgia Transmission Corp. and Georgia System Operations Corp. Collectively, Georgia’s customer-owned co-ops provide electricity and related services to 4.4 million people, nearly half of Georgia’s population, across 73 percent of the state’s land area. To learn more, visit and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Oglethorpe Power is one of the nation’s largest power supply cooperatives with more than $12 billion in assets serving 38 Electric Membership Corporations which, collectively, provide electricity to approximately 4.1 million Georgia residents. A proponent of conscientious energy development and use, Oglethorpe Power balances reliable and affordable energy with environmental responsibility and has an outstanding record of regulatory compliance. Its diverse energy portfolio includes natural gas, hydroelectric, coal and nuclear generating plants with a combined capacity of nearly 7,800 megawatts. Oglethorpe Power was established in 1974 and is owned by its 38 Member Systems. Its headquarters are in Tucker, Georgia, an Atlanta suburb.

The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) is the national trade association representing more than 900 local electric cooperatives. From growing suburbs to remote farming communities, electric co-ops serve as engines of economic development for 42 million Americans across 56 percent of the nation’s landscape. As local businesses built by the consumers they serve, electric cooperatives have meaningful ties to rural America and invest $12 billion annually in their communities.


Our Mission: Provide leadership and unity through advocacy, education and communications.

Georgia Electric Membership Corp. Headquarters
2100 E Exchange Place, Suite 510
Tucker, GA 30084

Front Desk: (770) 270-6950
Toll-Free: (800) 544-4362